July 24, 2024

Loreta Tonrey

Joyful Memories

Colors Of Africa


The colors of Africa are so vivid and beautiful that they have inspired many artists and writers. The term “African” is used to describe the people, animals, plants, and other things that come from or live in the continent of Africa. The colors of Africa often remind me of the bright greens and blues found in tropical rainforests. If you want to learn more about these amazing colors and how they inspire artists like myself, keep reading!


Angola is a country in southern Africa. It has a population of about 30 million people, most of whom live along the coast. The capital is Luanda, and its official language is Portuguese. The currency is the Angolan kwanza (AOA).

Angola gained independence from Portugal in 1975 after centuries of colonial rule by Europeans; it was one of several countries in what became known as Africa’s “Portuguese colonies.”


Botswana is a landlocked country in southern Africa. It is bordered by Zimbabwe, South Africa, Zambia and Namibia. Botswana is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations and has been independent since 1966.

Botswana’s capital city is Gaborone which has an estimated population of 330 000 people (2016). The country also has four other cities with populations exceeding 100 000: Francistown (140 080), Mahalapye (105 799), Palapye (104 704) and Selebi-Phikwe (101 618).


Burundi is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. The climate in Burundi varies depending on altitude. The lowlands are hot and humid while higher altitudes are cooler with a moderate climate.

Burundi has many different ethnic groups but they all speak Kirundi as a first language. There are also several languages spoken throughout Burundi including French, Kiswahili (or Swahili), Nkore-Kiga and Rukiga

Cabo Verde

Cabo Verde is an island nation in the Atlantic Ocean, off the coast of Western Africa. The country was discovered by Portuguese navigators in 1460 and it became independent from Portugal in 1975.

Today, Cape Verde has a population of 470,000 people with an area of 4500 km2 (1738 sq mi) and a population density of 33 people per square kilometer (87/sq mi).


Cameroon is a country in Central Africa. The flag of Cameroon is red, yellow and green, with a star in the middle. The capital of Cameroon is Yaoundé and its largest city is Douala.

Cape Verde

Cape Verde is an island country, located in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of West Africa. It’s a former Portuguese colony and has a population of about 500,000 people. The official language is Portuguese but many Cape Verdeans also speak English or French as second languages.

Central African Republic (CAR)

The Central African Republic (CAR) is a landlocked country in Central Africa. It’s population is 5.5 million, and its capital city is Bangui. The climate here is tropical, with warm temperatures year-round; however, it’s rainy season lasts from May to November.

The Sangha River runs through CAR and provides water for many people who live there as well as wildlife like hippos and crocodiles that call this river home too!


Chad is a landlocked country in Africa. It is located in the center of the continent and bordered by Libya to its north, Sudan to its east, Central African Republic to the south and Cameroon and Nigeria to its west. The country has an area of 1,284,000 square kilometers (496,000 sq mi) – slightly smaller than twice the size of Texas – with a population estimated at 12 million people as of 2016 .


Comoros is a small country in the Indian Ocean, located between Mozambique and Madagascar. It’s an archipelago of four islands: Grande Comore (Ngazidja), Anjouan (Nzwani), Moheli and Mayotte. The capital city is Moroni on Grande Comore Island.

The population of Comoros is about 756,000 people; most are Muslims who speak Arabic and French as their first languages. The official currency is the Comorian franc but US dollars are widely accepted throughout the country for paying for goods or services such as hotels or restaurants.

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is a landlocked country located in Central Africa, between Angola and Zambia. It is the second largest country in Africa, with an area of 2,344,000 square kilometers. The DRC has a population of 80 million people and its capital city is Kinshasa.

The climate in this country varies from tropical to equatorial hot climate due to its location near the equator. There are also two rainy seasons: one from March to May; another from September until November.[1] The average temperature for this region ranges between 20C-25C throughout most months except during summer months when temperatures can rise up to 38C.[2]


You’ll find Djibouti on the Horn of Africa, a small country that borders Ethiopia and Somalia. Its capital is Djibouti City, which has a population of around 800,000 people. The official language is French and the currency is the Djiboutian franc (also sometimes called simply “Franc”).

Equatorial Guinea (EG)

Equatorial Guinea is a small country on the west coast of Africa. The capital is Malabo, which has an estimated population of 100,000 people.

It’s official languages are Spanish and French, though many people speak Bantu languages too. The currency used in EG is the CFA franc (for more on this see our article on African currencies).

The country has 7 provinces: Bioko Norte; Bioko Sur; Centro Sur; Haho Nuevo y Bahia Mbojo (which includes part of Río Muni); Litoral Central y Oeste de Río Muni; Mongomo y Aconibe (including part of Annobon island); Rio Muni Occidental y Oriental Norte de Annobón

Ethiopia and Eritrea (Eritrea is part of Africa, but it is not part of the African Union)

Ethiopia is the oldest independent country in Africa and one of the oldest in the world. It was also one of the first countries to adopt Christianity as its state religion. Ethiopia’s capital city, Addis Ababa, was chosen as a site for hosting an international conference on racism due to its long history of racial tolerance and coexistence between different ethnic groups living there.

Ethiopia is bordered by Kenya, Somalia and Sudan (which must be differentiated from South Sudan). Eritrea used to be part of Ethiopia until it gained independence in 1993 after a 30-year war with its neighbor over disputed territory along their common border; this conflict continues today but has not led to any major outbreaks since 1998 when both countries signed an agreement regarding demarcation lines between them


The colors of Africa are as diverse as its people. Whether you’re looking to explore history or nature, there’s something for everyone in this amazing continent.